Cooking Definition: A La King

Last night at my Housewarming party, I overheard a conversation about cooking, something that many people love to talk about.  I heard the one person say that they made A La King, his week, for dinner….and I was thinking to myself all night, “The fuck is A La King?”  I’ve heard the term before, but it was all very unclear to me.  So, I did some research.  We’re all the kings, and in my case, the queens of our kitchens….and we make all of our rules.  But, there’s so much to learn…so many new recipes out there, so many classic recipes, and so many wtf recipes….and until my castle is filled with cooking how-to, then I’m the courtjester.  So below is a recipe for A La King:

 

A La King:  An American dish consisting of diced foods, usually chicken or turkey, in a cream sauce flavored with pimientos, mushrooms, green peppers and sometimes sherry.

 

Melt butter or margarine in a medium saucepan.

Cook onion and mushrooms over medium low heat until onion is tender.

Add flour and salt, stirring until mixture is smooth.

Gradually stir in milk and Worcestershire sauce.

Continue cooking and stirring for about 3 minutes or until mixture is thick and begins to bubble; stir in chicken and drained chopped pimiento.

Heat through and serve over hot cooked rice, pastry shells, or toast.

Chicken a la king recipe serves 4.

 

You’re the king.  Take a bow.

 

 

-Josh

I can’t cook, but I’ll die trying

Leave a comment